Original Post — Direct link
16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by itstonayy

I thought he left Rito already???

You're stuck with me for a long while. :')

I only left social media cause it was too addictive and toxic. But I have no intention of leaving Riot. c:

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by statisticles

I disagree with everyone saying this looks worse. I like it a lot, but I'd just make her orbs a lot darker to be more like black holes rather than weird balls of purple.

Yup, I'm making them darker as we speak. I can't go as dark as it used to be, as that'd go against our current style guide, but I'm trying my best to get the best of both worlds. :)

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

I've added another video under the original link with some new tweaks based on the early feedback: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ra__0PIxqqw

Still looking for some feedback, so don't hold anything back!

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Foucz

why is pure black against some kind of style? Could you provide some thoughts on it ? I always felt like riot cheats black by making dark purple instead. Same with white (usually a bit of mint or light blue)

Yup, we always cheat by saturating blacks and whites at least a bit. I'm not sure if I can really explain much, not sure what I have the right to explain or not. But this old post should give you some insights! https://nexus.leagueoflegends.com/en-us/2017/10/dev-leagues-vfx-style-guide/

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by LawEUMarksmen

Is it intended that Q and esspecially E look like they will be alot easier to dodge now?

The intent is to make them clear and readable~

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by statisticles

Nice! I love that youre so open to community feedback. Keep up the great work, we really appreciate you.

As a small aside, I'm guessing the old visuals would be against the current style guide because of its use of complete black. So in the future champion updates like Nocturne's won't be allowed to make use of black if that were the case?

Thanks!

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Indercarnive

I like her autos but yeah I agree the Q should be a bit darker

I just made it a bit darker, here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ra__0PIxqqw. :D

Would love to hear if that solves the concern or not!

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by MMS-

Careful with being on Reddit as well, it’s the same thing in different ways. Sometimes worse.

I only use it for work, so no real problem there. I never managed to get personally hooked on Reddit. 🤔

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Suspicious-Bus6351

That does look better.

That's great to hear!

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Neville_Lynwood

And I'm sure if players end up dodging abilities too easily, the balance team will tune her numbers or skill AOE's for example to compensate.

Clarity is good though. I'd rather be one shot because I'm too bad at dodging stuff, rather than because I can't tell if it should have hit me or not.

"I'd rather be one shot because I'm too bad at dodging stuff, rather than because I can't tell if it should have hit me or not."

this is my mantra

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by IAmCorgii

You work fast. Kudos!

ty ty!

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Combarishnigm

Absolutely gorgeous work. It makes me want to go play Syndra. You've done an amazing job.

If I had to give any criticism, it'd be the "splash" effect on Atlantean Syndra's un-ascended Q and W, after the orb appears/lands. It's a bit wimpy feeling compared to the super punchy, heavy effect that the other skins have there. That, plus the ascended W ball-landing effect seems to be swirling inwards, which makes it feel a bit like the startup of the Q. Could make someone think Syndra's starting a Q right as the W lands, which isn't ideal for clarity.

But I only noted those because you said not to hold it back - my overall impression of this work is that it's outstanding, and I say that as someone who's already been an enormous fan of your VFX updates so far.

That's a good point! I'm unsure exactly how I can change Atlantean properly, but I'll have a look.

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Cosmic-Warper

Best mantra. If only we had you around when blitz, naut, and morg were released

funny, I updated both blitz and naut's vfxs :')

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Watafool

We miss you on Twitter 💙

<3

16 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by danielkkwon

MUCH better =)

Glad you like it!

15 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by veronikaren

It looks amazing! Love the new effect changes on max leveled abilities.

Do you have an idea who's going to get a visual update next by any chance?

That is secret. c:

15 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by throawayjhu5251

How do you guys pick names for yourselves? Sirhaian is so badass, I'll name my future kid that.

omg pls x)

It's just a random name with random letters. When I was a kid, I wanted to make an animation studio when I'd be a grown up, and I had named it "SHA" for Studio Home Animation. When I started playing online (on Dofus), I needed a name. I took the SHA initials and added random letters in-between. And eventually came out with SirHaiAn. :')

15 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by MeanGreenTambourine

Is it true that vfx updates are unpaid and done in your free time? Asking for science.

Definitely not unpaid! They're done when I have some time in-between projects or in-between meetings, stuff like that. :)

15 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by -_Gemini_-

My favourite part of Syndra's passive (on the base skin, which is admittedly the only one I use) is the reddish purple that gets heavily mixed in to her abilities when they're ascended. This updated link is definitely an improvement over the first, but I'd like to see the red be more intense.

As is, it looks both less satisfying and harder to tell when an ability is maxed.

We intentionally steered away from the color red to avoid potentially mistaking ally and enemy versions.

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by N0_Surprises

I'm guessing everyone asks you this all the time so sorry if you've done this question to death but do you have any ideas of which champions will recieve one of these updates in the future?

I do, but I can't share that info, sorry!

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Epheremy

Hello u/RiotSirhaian, you're doing an outstanding job so far. However, please do consider accomodating our desires as we accomodate your restrictions. We all love her current VFX, and while we understand and share the idea of updating them, the thing we fear the most is eventually missing the old ones. This update will be definitive, we won't ever have another chance...

I beg you to plan some tweaks to your already incredible job to be closer to her original VFX colors while avoiding those you can't use and staying faithful to the current clarity standards. Allow us to discuss this further together, thanks :)

I'm investigating what I can do. :)

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Epheremy

Could i allow myself to share my opinion?

Of course!

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Epheremy

Thank you, i really hope you'll take my plea at heart, and i'm sure many other Syndra enthusiats will share my opinions.

I'd like to start from Justicar. What you did there far surpassed anything i'd ever expected. The skin was already beautiful, but you made it wonderful.

- The only thing that in my opinion should be done is to match the looks of the Spheres around Syndra and the spawned ones. As of now, pre max R, the Spheres around Syndra look like her live base skin Spheres with golden edges, which look amazing but don't really match Justicar's fantasy itself. Could they be made to match the spawned ones as they already do post max Q and R?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regarding her base skin, this is were i believe things get a little tricky. Your work on the VFX is, as i stated above, incredible; however i must admit that, as a very long time Syndra player, it feels awkward to see those colors. I've been trying and trying on the PBE but it just doesn't feel like her.

- I like your idea of accentuating the differences between pre and post max Q, however the pre max Q look is kinda awkward for her. The iconic look of her Spheres (as in her Splash Art) is a void blackness with purple edges and fluctuating lightling-like energy. Could they keep their old style with improved quality by using a full "almost-pure black", or at least the darkest shade allowed? Think of her improved post max Q but with a darker purple and "fuller" blackness. I believe the difference in the spawning animation would be more than enough for clarity, like it is currently.

- As previously mentioned with Justicar, even at max Q and R, the looks of the Spheres around Syndra and the spawned ones don't exactly match...

- I beg you to consider bringing some shades of red on her overall post max spells, similiar to the W color that surrounds grabbed units.

- I also beg you to consider keeping the cracked ground for some seconds after Q and W land, similiar to live. This gives a huge sense of power to her spells.

Thanks for that very detailed feedback! I'm working on a bunch of small changes. Can't promise I can address everything you mentioned, but I'll try to cover as much as I can!

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Epheremy

I think that you're gonna hate me for that huge wall of text, and i would understand why. However, please do not misunderstand me: i sincerely believe your VFX skills are amazing and some of the best i've seen in League, this is just a Syndra thing.Some of us have a special place for Syndra in League: her VFX, SFX, lore. A piece of us would break if any of those things would feel like Syndra no more...

Not at all, I really appreciate your passion for Syndra!

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Epheremy

Thank you, i really hope you'll take my plea at heart, and i'm sure many other Syndra enthusiats will share my opinions.

I'd like to start from Justicar. What you did there far surpassed anything i'd ever expected. The skin was already beautiful, but you made it wonderful.

- The only thing that in my opinion should be done is to match the looks of the Spheres around Syndra and the spawned ones. As of now, pre max R, the Spheres around Syndra look like her live base skin Spheres with golden edges, which look amazing but don't really match Justicar's fantasy itself. Could they be made to match the spawned ones as they already do post max Q and R?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regarding her base skin, this is were i believe things get a little tricky. Your work on the VFX is, as i stated above, incredible; however i must admit that, as a very long time Syndra player, it feels awkward to see those colors. I've been trying and trying on the PBE but it just doesn't feel like her.

- I like your idea of accentuating the differences between pre and post max Q, however the pre max Q look is kinda awkward for her. The iconic look of her Spheres (as in her Splash Art) is a void blackness with purple edges and fluctuating lightling-like energy. Could they keep their old style with improved quality by using a full "almost-pure black", or at least the darkest shade allowed? Think of her improved post max Q but with a darker purple and "fuller" blackness. I believe the difference in the spawning animation would be more than enough for clarity, like it is currently.

- As previously mentioned with Justicar, even at max Q and R, the looks of the Spheres around Syndra and the spawned ones don't exactly match...

- I beg you to consider bringing some shades of red on her overall post max spells, similiar to the W color that surrounds grabbed units.

- I also beg you to consider keeping the cracked ground for some seconds after Q and W land, similiar to live. This gives a huge sense of power to her spells.

Ey there! Here's a small update: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlXacdhw9WA

I've added more details at the bottom of this post: https://www.reddit.com/r/LeaguePBE/comments/q1fbfw/syndra_vfx_update/

Let me know if you have any more feedback!

14 days ago - /u/RiotSirhaian - Direct link

Originally posted by Epheremy

Justicar is litteraly perfect now. It's hard to believe this is a 2012 skin, they could release it now with a different recall and i'd buy it.

Hats off, sincerely.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

About her base skin...

- The cracked terrain is now more evident, it's definetly an improvement but I'll miss it staying a couple of seconds and having it on W; if it's something you're not allowed to do, i'll be very happy with what we got anyway. I can see those reds and i'm already relieved!

- I can't stop looking at those Dark Spheres without having 8 years of Syndra flashing in front of me hahaha. The pre max Q is improved in my eyes, with a less imposing purple and a better looking "inside". I guess we don't have any chance of getting any closer to her OG Dark Spheres in terms of colors proportions?

Thanks! Glad the changes went in the right direction! I'll see if I can push a bit further, but I think that's as far as I can go. :C