Kaivax

Kaivax


24 Aug

Post
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

(Replace this first paragraph with a brief description of your new category. This guidance will appear in the category selection area, so try to keep it below 200 characters.)

Use the following paragraphs for a longer description, or to establish category guidelines or rules:

  • Why should people use this category? What is it for?

  • How exactly is this different than the other categories we already have?

  • What should topics in this category generally contain?

  • Do we need this category? Can we merge with another category, or subcategory?

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

There’s a seat for you at the rodeo and I’ve got every slow dance saved!

Post
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

No one wants to become a ghost, but for those who wish to consider that eventuality, some end-of-life planning is in order.

Death is not the end

Oops, your hardcore character died. Now what?

Your best option is to move the character to a Classic Era realm, where you can resurrect and continue playing the character, should you ever wish to.

Choosing a destination

Most Classic Era realms are connected. That means that if you transfer the character to one of them, you’ll put yourself into a cluster of realms. Here are the clusters in this region:

  • Anathema, Arcanite Reaper, Bigglesworth, Blaumeux, Fairbanks, Kurinnaxx, Rattlegore, Smolderweb, Thunderfury, and =Whitemane=
  • =Arugal=, Felstriker, and Yojamba
  • Ashkandi, =Mankrik=, Pagle, Westfall, and Windseeker
  • =Atiesh=, Azuresong, Myzrael, and Old Blanchy
  • =...
Read more
Post
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

Reposting and expanding this.

Hardcore realms will open today at 3:00 p.m. PDT. That’s:

...
Time If you’re in
6:00 a.m. Perth
7:30 a.m. Adelaide
8:00 a.m. Brisbane
8:00 a.m. Sydney
10:00 a.m. Wellington
11:00 a.m. Samoa
12:00 Noon Hawaii
2:00 p.m Anchorage
3:00 p.m. Los Angeles
3:00 p.m. Phoenix
4:00 p.m. Denver
4:00 p.m. Mexico City
5:00 p.m. Chicago
5:00 p.m. Texas
6:00 p.m. New York City
6:00 p.m. Santiago
6:00 p.m. Manaus
Read more
Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

So is that Blink-182 and 3 Doors Down? Or Good Charlotte and Bowling for Soup? Or all of the above?

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

Okay I’ve tried re-writing that one again so it’s hopefully clear-- we’ve removed the option. Your auto-shot should behave like it did before the patch, by default.

Post
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

Your Battle.net app should now have the latest 1.14.4 client available. When you update to this client, you’ll find that:

  • You can now whisper/invite/remove players from group if those players are on a different virtual realm.
  • Dungeon difficulty settings are removed.
  • The auto-attack/auto-shoot option is removed. Player-characters should continue shooting when enemies get close.

No more trying to wand something and throwing punches instead.

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

Here’s a quick table I threw together for this region.

Hardcore realms will open tomorrow at 3:00 p.m. PDT. That’s:

Time If you’re in
6:00 a.m. Perth
7:30 a.m. Adelaide
8:00 a.m. Sydney
10:00 a.m. Wellington
12:00 Noon Hawaii
4:00 p.m. Denver
5:00 p.m. Chicago
6:00 p.m. New York City
7:00 p.m. Sao Paulo

23 Aug

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

Never go AFK. Ever. Anywhere.

Just don’t do it. It’s always better to log out and know for sure that your character is safe.
If you really want to hang out in guild chat while AFK, make an alt for that and park them in the city.

In the bank, preferably. Maybe inside the vault, if possible.

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

I’ll go first.

WoW Classic uses layers to help spread out large population of players and prevent any one area of the world from becoming overloaded, which would degrade the play experience. Each layer is a full copy of the entire game world, to provide a sense of continuity with the players around you. When you’re on the same layer as another player, you might see that person repeatedly, in different zones and at different levels, because you’re both on the same layer. The way layering works for groups is fairly straightforward: if you invite someone to group with you and you’re on a different layer than they are, they will be moved from their layer to yours. Thus, when grouping up with someone else on a Hardcore realm, always expect that you’re about to change over to their layer, and be very careful about where you position yourself.

Don’t ever join a group while standing in a cleared murloc camp, or you might find yourself getting viciously mrrrgled.

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

I’ve noticed threads popping up lately that are full of good advice, so I decided to put a blue stamp on it and see if we can bring all the best tips together.

What’s your best tip for other players setting out to level up on a Hardcore realm?

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

August 22, 2023

Classes

  • Warlock
    • Fixed an issue that caused Haunted Soul to remain when untalented.

Dungeons

  • Creatures that detect stealth and invisibility are now immune to the effects of Mind Soothe.

Player versus Player

  • Solo Shuffle
    • Stormkeeper gained by the Elemental Shaman 2-piece set Runes of the Cinderwolf bonus now properly resets between Solo Shuffle rounds.
    • The shared cooldown between Gladiator’s Medallion, Will To Survive, Stormform, Fireblood, and Will of the Forsaken now properly resets between Solo Shuffle rounds.
Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

In order to fix this (and a couple of other issues), we’re going to restart all Classic Era realms at 7:00 a.m. PDT tomorrow, Wednesday, August 23.

At that time, your talents will be reset, and you should be able to select them as usual.


22 Aug

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

Today, we’re deploying a hotfix that will do this.

Going forward, creatures that detect stealth and invisibility will be immune to the effects of Mind Soothe. They will now return an immune message, but should not put the Priest into combat.

Post
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

World of Warcraft Classic Era Patch Notes
Version 1.14.4
August 22, 2023

Hardcore Realms

New Classic Era Hardcore realms will open at 3:00 p.m. PDT on August 24.

When a player-character dies on a Hardcore realm, they cannot resurrect or be resurrected by any other spell or ability. After death, the player-character continues to exist in the game world as a ghost to facilitate communication with in-game friends and resolve logistical matters. The character is not necessarily lost, however. After dying on a Hardcore realm, players will be able to choose to utilize the Free Character Move service and move ...

Read more
Post
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

With the 1.14.4 patch to WoW Classic Era, we’ve updated how PvP ranking works, both in immediate gameplay and via weekly rank calculations. For those who wish to know the details of how this system calculates weekly ranking, we’ve put together the following overview.

Each week during the weekly reset, the system now takes the following steps:

  1. Convert the player’s total weekly honor points to Contribution Points (CP).
  2. Find the player’s “expected rank”, given this amount of CP.
  3. If the player’s “expected rank” is greater than or equal to their current rank, then for each rank above their own (up to a maximum of 4 ranks), they are awarded the difference in CP between each rank above theirs and the next below it, multiplied by the honor change factor for that rank.
  4. If the player’s expected rank falls below their current rank, they will instead decay.
    • Please note that in this new system, de-ranking is not possible due to decay that c...
Read more
Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

August 21, 2023

Classes [With weekly realm maintenance]

  • Druid
    • Guardian
      • Absorb granted by Ursoc’s Fury reduced to 45% of damage dealt (was 50%).
      • Innate Resolve’s bonus to Frenzied Regeneration reduced to 120% (was 150%).
  • Demon Hunter
    • Havoc
      • Eye Beam is no longer interrupted by school lockout effects.
  • Vengeance
    • Fel Devastation is no longer interrupted by school lockout effects.
  • Druid
    • Fixed an issue where Sunfire and Moonfire were not updating quick enough after receiving a Mastery increase from an external source.
  • Mage
    • Fixed an issue that caused Mass Invisibility to cancel inconsistently, with no direct actions taken.
    • D...
Read more

21 Aug

Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

We intend to make changes to how the Advanced Combat Log is populated, in advance of Dragonflight Season 3, that will prevent its use in this way.

Please see section 1-C of the ...

Read more
Comment
    Kaivax on Forums - Thread - Direct

We’ve added the following adjustments, which will also go live with scheduled weekly maintenance:

Player versus Player

Warrior

  • Arms
    • Deep Wounds damage is no longer reduced in PvP combat (was 28% reduced).
    • Mortal Strike damage increased by 35% in PvP combat (was 10%).
    • Bladestorm damage increased by 70% in PvP combat (was 40%).
    • Fatal Mark may stack up to a maximum of 5 times in PvP combat (was 8 times).
    • Execute damage increased by 15% in PvP combat.
  • Protection
    • Execute damage increased by 15% in PvP combat.



Other sites